BP and Your Health!

As most of you know I live along the Emerald Coast of Florida, and I’m sure you all know what is going on with the BP oil spill. This got me thinking about how easy it is to take for granted something precious in our lives.  One day it’s gone and you are left wondering what happened and why you didn’t take more advantage of it.  When I first moved here I went to the beach often, even if it was just to watch the sun set.  Then time passed, I got busy, and life started to take over.  I  thought, “The beach will always be there, I’ll go next week.”  Unfortunately, next week turned into next month, and so on, and then one day I realized I couldn’t remember the last time I was there.

Well if you think about it, your health is very similar.  We start out young, running around playing, not even thinking about being overweight or unhealthy.  You could eat whatever you wanted and never had to worry about your waist line.  Then one day comes and you don’t play as much. Who knows why; maybe you got your first car, so who needs a bike?  Or worse, a new video game came out so you just sit on the couch and play.  You didn’t worry about your health, it had always been there, and why would that change (just like those sandy white beaches)?  And so it begins, your health gets taken for granted… days turn into months which turn into years.  Then before you know it life gets in the way and there is definitely no time for exercise (or going to the beach).

Then suddenly it’s gone (whether it’s the beauty of the beach or your health).  Helpless and lost feelings set in, and you don’t know which way to turn.  So you try multiple attempts to get it back, but nothing seems to work (sound familiar BP?)  Then at some point it’s just easier to give up on your health and look for “that magic pill.”   Just as BP is learning about not cutting corners; your health is the same way.  It’s going to take hard work and dedication to get your health back and anyone who tells you differently isn’t telling you the whole truth.  You are worth the effort just like our beaches and the environment.  No one can do this for you, but you can ask for help, and this is where I come in.  I want you to know I’m here to offer a helping hand, or create a road map for you to find your health again.  Because once you get a second chance you tend to hold onto things a little tighter to your heart.  I’m very glad to say I have been to the beach 3 times this week already, and I’m shooting for more because unlike you, I may not get that second chance.

Yours in Health

Colleen

Leave a comment

Filed under BP oil spill, Fat loss, healthy children, Healthy lifestyle, healthy moms, New Mommy Makeover, New Moms, Oil spill in gulf, post pregnancy, Post pregnancy weight loss, weight loss

Leave a Reply

