Never Give Up!

I know I’ve talked some on this subject before, but after receiving a few comments from some readers I felt we needed to address this subject again.  Some of the comments talked about how hard it is to stick to a healthy lifestyle.  I AGREE!  If it was easy we would all look like the cover models on the magazines.  I’m going to let you in a little secret; it’s hard for me too, sometimes!  Yes it’s the truth; don’t fall out of your chairs.  The road is not always going to be smooth.  In fact there are going to be times where there are some big pot holes along the way.  I can’t tell you how many times I’ve seen someone stop working out just as their body was making the change they were looking for.  We live in this, “I want it now world.”  Sometimes, like with health, things can take a while to notice a difference, and just before we see what we are looking for we stop.  Sure we can try to take a shortcut and go on one of those fad-drop 20 pounds in 7 days- diets, but the long term effects of such diets can be harmful for your body.  It’s kind of an oxymoron, you crash-diet to get healthy, and you end up hurting your long-term health.  Change is hard; this is why I always tell my clients to take baby steps in changing their habits.  Set yourself up for success by setting 90 day goals.  If you think about it we have 90 day blocks of time all around us.  Things like pregnancy are broken down into trimesters, self employed people pay taxes quarterly, and seasons change every 90 days.  Our brains can focus on small chunks like this.  If I ask you where you want to be in 20 years that’s hard to see, but you can definitely see 90 days out.  In fact that’s only the end of April.  See the big difference?  Now you can take those 90 days and break them down into weeks.  All I want you to do is change one thing a week for those 90 days.  That would be 12 healthy changes over that time.  You can do that, right?  However, if I told you I want you to make 12 changes starting tomorrow, your eyes would glaze over and you’d freak out.  Remember, we all crawled before we walked.  Life is a journey, enjoy it, and don’t beat yourself up when you hit that pot hole.  Get back on track, and keep working for the healthy you that’s fighting to get out!

Yours in health,
Colleen

P.S.
Checkout the NMM Giveaway link http://livingonloveandcents.com/2011/01/21/mommy-makeover-giveaway/.  A Mommy Blogger gave a review of my DVD program and I’m offering a giveaway.  You can sign up to win!  The link will take you there!  Giveaway ends Feb 5th.

Leave a comment

Filed under colleen riddle, Fat loss, Healthy lifestyle, healthy moms, New Mommy Makeover, New Moms, Post pregnancy weight loss, stress, weight loss

Leave a Reply

